Sunday Brunch and Sonnets

I am filled with poetry, bluebirds, dead flowers of the past, and rising suns of fortune.
Can I be more than my years of toil?
I take hold of what I can and what I must.
A beautiful girl smiling for just you or a sonnet at brunch read tenderly can bring tears.
I can be more.
I will be more.
I crave this journey.
I breathe it deep.
I don’t rush and attempt to understand each letter I write and leave on your doorstep.
There is no need today, to be the greatness or failures that are sure to come tomorrow.
I am not the best yet and that definition will be up to you.
Your legs, thighs, and lips I must somehow still keep in my pocket for a story another day.
Tales of forever I will tell of how they changed my today forever more.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Brunch and Sonnets

    • Eddie Cabbage says:

      I do not do to many poetry challenges or poetry club postings lately. So busy writing, or attempting to find a publisher for my writing, or completing a project that is near completion. I do love the feedback and new writers I meet when I do participate. Thank you in the interest and the comment. I will keep it in mind.

Leave a Reply

