Ocean Water Matinee

Today I dream of islands and escape to the vast unknown.
The sad days of the past are in my eyes.
No mirrors for vanity.
No cameras to mark the occasion.
Just a downward glance, as my reflection in the Ocean water is cast.

Sailing forward like never before.
A friend in solitude.
Conversations with dead poets.
A society of desperate reward.

Years of learning.
Years of failing.
Years of dumb luck.
The days await my breaking away.

The clouded view is no longer in my telescope.
Though I feel the smoke and fog tingling the tiny hairs on the back of my neck.
To turn back is only death without dying.

Leave a Reply

