A Soldiers Song

I’m standing here all-alone,
Amidst the anger that surrounds
us all. Tears cascade down, for
all the children who have fallen
that I once knew. I hate to think
that I could be the next one.
So far overseas, across the vastness
that only a dream could perceive.
I can see so well, what it is I
left behind. When this war is over,
that day when I’m free, I just
hope there is still a judgment free hug waiting
for me.

I don’t know where I am,
or what the future may hold.
I am just sitting here under this
desert heat, Dreaming of the stars and
stripes, that seem to fly so proud for
me. I’ll just hold on and keep dreaming
of the home that’s depending on me.

Leave a Reply

